Our Leadership

The Harvard Brain Science Initiative (HBI) is a pan-university endeavor out of the Office of the Provost.


M.E. GreenbergMichael Eldon Greenberg, PhD 
Chair, Department of Neurobiology, Harvard Medical School
Nathan Marsh Pusey Professor of Neurobiology 
Greenberg Lab Website

J.R. SanesJoshua R. Sanes, PhD
Director, Harvard Center for Brain Science
Professor, Molecular and Cell Biology, Harvard University
Sanes Lab Website

Faculty Steering Committee

  • Paola Arlotta, PhD, Morris Kahn Professor of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology, FAS and HMS
  • Bruce Bean, PhD, Robert Winthrop Professor of Neurobiology, HMS
  • Randy Buckner, PhD, Professor of Psychology and of Neuroscience, FAS; 
    Professor of Psychology in the Department of Psychiatry, HMS
  • Constance Cepko, PhD, Bullard Professor of Genetics and Neuroscience; 
    Professor of Ophthalmology, HMS; Investigator, HHMI
  • David Corey, PhD, Professor of Neurobiology, HMS; Investigator, HHMI
  • Catherine Dulac, PhD, Higgins Professor of Molecular & Cellular Biology, FAS; Investigator, HHMI
  • David Ginty, PhD, Edward R. and Anne G. Lefler Professor of Neurobiology, HMS; Investigator, HHMI
  • Takao Hensch, PhD, Professor of Molecular & Cellular Biology, FAS; Professor of Neurology, HMS
  • Hopi Hoekstra, PhD, Alexander Agassiz Professor of Zoology in the Museum of Comparative Zoology; Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology, and Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology, FAS; Curator of Mammals in the Museum of Comparative Zoology; Harvard College Professor; Investigator, HHMI
  • Jeff Lichtman PhD, Jeremy R. Knowles Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology;
    Santiago Ramon y Cajal Professor of Arts and Sciences, FAS
  • Bernardo Sabatini, MD, PhD, Alice and Rodman W. Moorhead III Professor of Neurobiology, HMSInvestigator, HHMI
  • Rachel Wilson, PhD, Professor of Neurobiology, HMS; Investigator, HHMI
  • Clifford Woolf, MD, PhD, Professor of Neurology & Neurobiology, HMS;
    Director, F.M. Kirby Neurobiology Center, Boston Children’s Hospital